Emotional Health / Self Improvement

One Leap of Faith And A Year Of Blessings

A year ago I was stuck in an apartment I couldn’t afford anymore, drowning in debt and lost on who I was. I was talking with God everyday but was months went by since I was around good community. I was not at my best and needed change.

One Saturday morning I was making coffee feeling like a mountain was on my chest looked up and said to Him, “God, I know this is not what you want for me. I know you have better.”  In my gut I had this settling feeling that I had to believe those words and walk out in them. I had to take a “leap of faith”.

The first thing that needed to happen was downsizing. The apartment had to go. I didn’t know where I was going to go but knew that God had it all worked out. So I started selling almost everything I owned. It was rough. For three weeks I’d come home from work and post furniture on Craigslist, lug car loads of donations to Goodwill or tried to coordinate a new living situation. 

As my possessions dwindled my anxiety rose. I had yet to find a place to live and had a bed and shelf left in the apartment. I vented to a friend about it one afternoon, he said, “You know what you need? A married couple. Live with one of those.”

A married couple? Where am I going to find that?  The idea was perfect but most of my friends were single or moving out of state.

Then, four hours later a married friend of mind texted me, “Sarah, we heard you are still looking fora place to stay. Live with us!”

What? Really? Are you kidding me? Jesus, is this a joke?

Nope, it wasn’t a joke. It was the best living situation I could ask for.

A week later I was settling into my new home with my ‘marrieds’ and loving it. God didn’t simply provide me a place to live. He blessed my life though out the year. I was so focused on moving details I hardly thought about the future. He was probably giggling thinking, she has no idea what’s in store.

He led me to an amazing church community. Opportunities opened for work and I paid off my debt! My marrieds were an excellent example of a sacrificial love. Although I was terrified, I was able to start applying trust in my own relationships because of it. This is a scratch of the surface, I could go down rabbit holes for hours about the past year.

However, getting to those points wasn’t easy. It took blood, sweat and pints of ice cream to get though somedays.

Most weeks I cautiously budgeted where my money was going. I lived on $100 for all of my expenses. No shopping. No road trips. No going out. Gas and groceries, that’s it. There were times I was able to manage doing some fun things, but more often than not I had to say no. Yes, I wanted to go to shows, movies and hangout with friends. There were nights I felt lonely because I chose to say no. But I wanted to murder those student loans more than watch a movie and kept going.

When it came to finding community, I hopped like a bunny from one church to the other for awhile. It got old, so I started listening to podcasts of churches around the area instead. One church stuck out to me so I visited it with a friend. We both loved it, I struggle with social anxiety. I made up excuses for the next several months to avoid facing my anxieties. My original thought came up often during this season, “God, I know this is not what you want for me. I know you have better.” Trembling and all I started going consistently to church and a small group. Jesus has blessed me from facing my fears so much! Now I look forward to going and don’t think twice about driving there alone. Not to mention, I have so many more amazing people in my life.

When I took this leap of faith I had no idea how it would unfold. Where are you in this moment of life? Are you being tested to trust? To let go? To move forward? If you are, I cannot tell you enough how much of a blessing it is once you take that step. It’s scary and challenge after challenge will come with it. But the hard work and continuing to give things to God is worth it.

Over the next couple weeks I’m going to share how I lived on less and the life lessons that came with it. I hope you’ll join me for this series! See you next Tuesday.

Matthew 4:18-22

Jesus Calls His First Disciples

18 As Jesus was walking beside the Sea of Galilee, he saw two brothers, Simon called Peter and his brother Andrew. They were casting a net into the lake, for they were fishermen. 19 “Come, follow me,” Jesus said, “and I will send you out to fish for people.” 20 At once they left their nets and followed him.

21 Going on from there, he saw two other brothers, James son of Zebedee and his brother John. They were in a boat with their father Zebedee, preparing their nets. Jesus called them, 22 and immediately they left the boat and their father and followed him.

2 thoughts on “One Leap of Faith And A Year Of Blessings

  1. I’m so Happy for You Sis, Your strong faith will always get you through. I really needed to hear this for myself and I know I don’t have to ever worry about you or where you are going in your life because God is taking good care of my beautiful daughter. Love Ya

    Liked by 1 person

    • Awe, Mom! You’re the best, I love you so much. Thanks for reading this. I’m proud of you too and how far you’ve come with God. I wouldn’t be the woman I am today with out you. ❤

      Like

Leave a Reply

